Setting Up Sync for .Mac & Mobile Me

Setting Up Sync for .Mac & Mobile Me

If setting up Sync for the first time, the following steps will walk you through it.

If you’ve already set up your Syncing but still have some questions when it comes to updating your data, bypass the first few steps and jump down to ‘Syncing Your Data’.

Setting Up Sync For The First Time

The sync preferences are to be found in your System Preferences – .Mac

Sign Into Your .Mac Account

1. Before setting up syncing you must be signed into your .mac account.

2. Once you’ve done that, click on Sync.

Setting Syncing Preferences

This is the Sync Panel. It’s where you can set up the frequency of your syncing, what you want to sync and if you’d like to see the syncing status in your menu bar.

You don’t have to sync everything on the list, check or uncheck the box next to each item to set up the syncing for that particular item or application.

If you’re setting up for Mobile Me, your calendars and contacts need to be set up for syncing.

Sync Extra Applications

If you scroll down, other applications that support syncing will appear on this list so you have the option if you wish to backup to your iDisk / Mobile Me Disk, or sync between other machines on your network.

Advanced – This is where you can register other computers on your network.

Syncing Computers On A Network

Optional – If you have more than one or more machines on a network that you want to keep synced, register each machine in this advanced panel.

* Each computer needs to be registered separately from it’s own syncing preference panel.

Ready To Sync

Once you’ve set all your preferences, click on ‘Sync Now’

Sync Alerts

Sync Alert Options

You can choose different syncing rules for each application.

Viewing Details

If you encounter an alert such as this, by clicking on Show Details to see what is being added, modified or deleted.

Resolving Sync Conflicts

This conflict refers to colors set in iCal for a calendar.

By clicking from one panel to the other you’ll notice that your options to resolve conflicts from location will also change. If addressing a conflict from iCal you can choose to resolve the issue by the rules on your machine or .mac

Resolving Conflicts – speed it up

Clicking on ‘Resolve all similar conflicts’ will save you having to go through each similar conflict one by one. Once all conflicts are resolved click Done to continue.

Backup Backup Backup

If syncing for the first time it’s always a good idea to have a backup of your data before trying something new, so that if something goes wrong and you loose your data, you’ll only have to go back to your last backup to retrieve your data again.

Backing up your data should be a daily occurrence but if you’ve let that side of things slide I recommend looking into Time Machine or SuperDuper. You can get download a free trial at http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper

Copyright © 2008. LearnMacsOnline.com & Annette Q. Benkie. All Rights Reserved.

Setting Up Screen Zoom Functions

Setting Up Screen Zoom Functions

Want to get a little closer to your screen? Follow these simple steps and you’ll be there in no time.

Open System Preferences

Click on Universal Access

Universal Access Panel > Seeing

The zoom preferences are in the seeing screen.

Turn on Zoom – I’ve highlighted the box that has the keycodes that turns zoom on and off.

Enable access for assistive

Options – Recommended Settings

Steps 1 to 4 – these are recommended settings only.

Once you feel more comfortable you can try different settings to see which suits you best.

Step 5 – You can set your own keycode for this setting. I have set the control key to work with the scroll key on my mouse to zoom in on the screen

Copyright © 2008. LearnMacsOnline.com & Annette Q. Benkie. All Rights Reserved.

Resize and Email Your Images Using iPhoto

Resize and Email Your Images Using iPhoto

Update Note – Thanks to a follower of my tutorials I’ve updated this tutorial and added an extra key command about selecting images. So thanks for that and as always if do you spot an error or something I’ve missed please let me know. Also if there’s some thing that you’d like to see a tutorial on I’m always open to suggestions. – Annette

When emailing images from iPhoto you have the option to resize images. For those new to this simple but powerful application the following tutorial will show you how simple it is to email your photos so even those on the slowest of dial up services can receive and enjoy.

Open iPhoto

You will find iPhoto in your toolbar.

If iPhoto is not in your toolbar, you will find it in the applications folder.

Selecting Your Photo for Emailing

1. Click on the photo that you would like to email. You can click one photo or shift click and select several photos at once.

2. Then click on the email button.

Additional consecutive images can be selected by holding down the shift key or non consecutive image by holding down the command key and clicking on eack key.

Choosing An Image Size

Once you press the email button, this dialog box pops up. If is from this box that you can resize the images for your email.

General Rule of Thumb (this will of course depend on your camera and resolution of photo)

Small – Images for websites – small

Medium – Perfect for emailing and viewing photos online

Large – Should have no problems printing 4×6 prints (image resolution dependent)

Actual Size – Will need Full Quality image to print anything larger than regular snapshot.

Once you set the size you want, press Compose.

Sending Your Email

Mail automatically opens with the resized photo or photos in a new mail ready to be addressed.

Note: The size of the photo is in the corner of the page

Now Address your email, type your message and press send.

Your photo has been resized, and you’ve saved the recipient the hassle of scrolling up and down to see the full picture.

Additional Information:

Watch the quicktime movie that accompanies this tutorial on www.free4macs.com

Free Stock Photography from www.dreamstime.com

Secure Empty Trash

Secure Empty Trash

If you thought all you had to do was empty your trash to rid yourself of a sensitive file, think again. Files can be recovered from your hard-drive weeks and even months after you’ve deleted them. So what do you do?

Well, fear not. By following these simple steps you’re files will be erased forever.

Secure Empty Trash

If you’ve ever wondered what the Secure Empty Trash option under Empty Trash was, well as the name implies it will securely erase everything in your trash can.

1. Under the Finder menu, Choose > Secure Empty Trash

Emptying the Trash

The Trash Emptying Process Begins. The process takes longer than usual, depending on the number and size of files being deleated.

Once the contents of the trash are erased they cannot be recovered.

Copyright © 2008. LearnMacsOnline.com & Annette Q. Benkie. All Rights Reserved.

Lose your AppleCare details?

Apple keeps details of all your current apple care contracts online? You can view product coverage, eligible services, and plan features. Go to Apple.com – Support and scroll down to the apple care option box. All you need is your Apple login and password.

Apple saves your AppleCard Contract Details